Gelatin Capsules vs. Vegetarian Capsules

gelatin-vs-vcaps-header

Although vegetarian capsules and gelatin capsules look the same, there are a wide variety of differences that should be taken into consideration. Capsules carry many benefits for a person who chooses to use them. A few of these benefits include being easier to swallow when compared to tablets, being tasteless, having the ability to dissolve quickly, and there are no extra added ingredients to hold the pill together

The main difference between gelatin capsules and vegetarian capsules is what they are composed of. Gelatin is commonly used in the production of capsules. Gelatin capsules come in a wide variety of shapes, colors, and sizes to fit your individual needs. Gelatin is formed by collagen. Collagen is a protein that is derived from the connective tissues and organs of animals such as bovine or pigs. This can be a concern for those who have strict dietary or religious restrictions that do not allow them to consume such animal products. If you are looking to fill powdered medications or supplements, gelatin is the best option. Gels and liquid capsules are not compatible with capsules made of gelatin. This is a case in which vegetarian capsules would be an ideal solution. Gelatin capsules do not remain stable when they are exposed to heat or humidity. The main advantage of gelatin capsules is that they are relatively less expensive than vegetarian capsules.

A major difference between gelatin and vegetarian capsules is that vegetarian capsules are not made with animal byproducts. This allows them to be a suitable choice for those who may have strict dietary or religious restrictions that prevent them from using gelatin. This type of capsule is ideal for vegetarians and vegans. Aside from that, they are also more acceptable for religious reasons. These capsules are claimed to be Kosher and Halal products. Like gelatin, vegetarian capsules are offered in a wide variety of colors and sizes. These capsules have no known health risks because they are 100% natural and nontoxic. It provides people with a safe and effective way to enjoy the benefits of a quick release without having to feel the guilt of consuming boiled animal parts as the shell of the pill. When compared to gelatin capsules, vegetarian capsules have a greater ability to remain stable when they are exposed to heat or humidity .

Pills are a part of many people’s daily lives. These supplements are typically taken by people who ultimately want to live a healthier life. There are a vast array of differences between gelatin capsules and vegetarian capsules. Although there are many differences between the two types of capsules, the main difference is ultimately the source from which they derived.